Poem 36: Semi-Love Story

By Meka

Spent my whole life
Waiting for one like you
And the rest to forget
How we are almost perfect

How everything I’ve ever wanted
Came packaged in the one gift
Too expensive to open
I couldn’t accept it

But it owns me
And it holds me like
I should see in his eyes
How much he adores mine
And he can’t surmise why I
Let him when it’s all I desire

Broken, but God only knows
Maybe I’m taking for granted
Nothing can take what’s meant
Given precedent, I’m unconvinced

And too old to be selfish
But I’m working on it

Enjoy! Like, share, and don’t forget to follow.

Love,
Meka Love

2 comments on “Poem 36: Semi-Love Story

Leave a Reply

